Qarabag’s historic victory in Khankendi - PHOTO - VIDEO

21 December 2023 17:00
Qarabag’s historic victory in Khankendi - PHOTO - VIDEO

The last game day of the 1/8 final stage of the Azerbaijan Cup was marked by a historical event. reports that Khankendi City Stadium hosted the official game for the first time in the years of independence.

In the historic match, Qarabag faced the MOIK (Central Military Sports Club). President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev and first lady Mehriban Aliyeva watched the game from the stadium. The meeting started after the symbolic touch of the ball by the head of the country.

Although both teams created dangerous situations in the first part of the match, they could not distinguish themselves. This was caused either by the inaccuracy of the players or by the correct play of the goalkeepers.

In the second 45 minutes, there were mutual attacks. Qarabag, which advanced to the playoffs in the Europa League and is the leader in the Premier League, scored the winning goal in the added minutes. Nariman Akhundzade scored the goal of the I League representative. He scored in the 90th+3rd minute.

Thus, Gurban Gurbanov's team won the historic match with a score of 1:0 and advanced to the 1/4 finals. "Qarabag" will face "Sabah" on the way to the semi-finals.

Azerbaijan Cup

1/8 final
December 21 (Thursday)

14:00. "Qarabag" - MOIK - 1:0
Goal: Nariman Akhundzade, 90+3

Referees: Ali Aliyev, Shirmamed Mamedov, Taleh Mammadov, Kamal Umudlu
VAR: Javid Jalilov
PAS: Kamran Bayramov

"Karabagh": 23. Luka Gugheshashvili, 20. Richard Almeida, 4. Rahil Mammadov, 13. Bahlul Mustafazada ( k), 44. Elvin Jafarguliyev, 90. Nariman Akhundzade, 17. Hamidu Keita, 8. Marko Yankovic, 18. Olavio Juninho, 2. Mateus Silva, 19. Redon Cica
Reserve players: 99. Andrey Lunev, 89. Amin Ramazanov, 55. Badavi Huseynov, 30. Abbas Huseynov, 27. Toral Bayramov, 29. Marko Veshovich, 10. Abdullah Zubir, 66. Patrick Andrade, 7. Yassin Benzia, 11. Adama Diakabi, 6. Julio Romao, 15. Leandro Andrade
Head coach: Gurban Gurbanov

MOIC: 1. Zeynal Ahmadzada, 17. Sabir Allahguliyev, 6. Isa Zeynalli (k), 3. Nijat Askarov, 4. Ulvi Ibazade, 97. Farid Abbasli, 77. Elmir Rahimzade, 8. Ramil Orujov, 10 Khayal Badirov, 20. Nurlan Bayramov, 11. Elvin Valiiev
Reserve players: 35. Mahammad Gurbanov, 12. Aykhan Gojayev, 44. Samir Ibrahimov, 26. Elshan Veysov, 9. Javidan Abbaszade, 33. Raul Musayev, 66. Elchin Bayramov , 27. Nihad Aghayev, 38. Hasrat Mursalov, 30. Murad Musayev
Head coach: Gazanfar Abbasov
Referee-inspector: Munis Abdullayev
AFFA representative: Emin Jafarov
Khankendi City Stadium

It should be noted that for the last time in May 1993, "Qarabag" played against "Turan" (Tovuz) at "Imarat" stadium in Aghdam and won.