The winners Vugar Gashimov award have been announced

1 February 2024 13:00
The winners Vugar Gashimov award have been announced

The 2024 winners of the "fair play" award, founded in the name of the outstanding chess player of Azerbaijan, European champion Vugar Gashimov, have been announced. informs that the winners of the "Tata Steel Chess" tournament in Wijk-aan-Zee, the Netherlands, were announced taking into account the principles of "fair play".

Max Warmerdam from the Netherlands, who competed in the main competition, and Stefan Beukema from Belgium, a participant in the "challenge", were awarded the prize established by the Vugar Gashimov Chess Foundation. Jeroen Van den Berg, the director of the competition, presented the prizes to the chess players.

Both chess players were awarded this award for the first time.

It should be noted that "Vugar Gashimov Fair Play Award" has been presented since 2016. Magnus Carlsen, Viswanathan Anand, Vladimir Kramnik and others won this award in different years.